top of page
Search
  • marianjoydacara

Summary and Suggestions


Purpose of Practicum


The very purpose of this practicum was to develop our skills and capabilities in terms of teaching. These skills and capabilities were needed to utilize for us to be globally competitive in other ASEAN countries. This helped us to make use of what we have learned in the four corners of our classroom into a more diverse and multicultural setting dealing with a whole new set of students, new environment, new culture and everything which were new to each and everyone of us. What I have expected was so different when I was already in the country to which I was assigned to teach. Everything was tested. Luckily, I was able to survived and finished my tasked successfully and was also able to gave my students the knowledge that I wanted them to learn. I was able to taught them something that will surely remember for the rest of their lives. 



Procedures of Practicum

As I started to taught in the classroom which was new to me and I was also new to my students, I slowly introduced myself to them. I took it step by step before I can completely included myself to their system because I don't want them to be shocked knowing that I was a foreigner in their class. Since I was given information that the classes I have handled were their first time also to have an exchange student teacher. So basically, it was both first time for me and my students to work inside the classroom. Everyday, with the help of other Thai teachers in Chiengrak Noi School, I was able to taught the students comfortably because they are willing also to be taught by me which was considered as their foreign teacher.


Outcomes of the Practicum


My task was successfully conducted especially during my final demonstration teaching. In my everyday teaching during one month of stay in Thailand, I was able to caught the interests of my students which gave me the great opportunity to taught them what I want them to learn in my lessons. That's why during my final demo teaching, it was not that hard for me and my students to interact with each other. Everybody in my class have something to share and they were very active. And I thought, that was the best thing for a teacher knowing that your students were getting along with you in the lesson.


The Challenges of the Practicum


Thailand was a non-English speaking country and the subject that I needed to taught to my students was English. That was the irony or should I say, my struggle. It was very hard. My students were willing to learn what I was teaching but it was hard for both of us that my students barely knew communicative English. In my first two weeks of observation and teaching, I saw that during English classes, the teacher still used Thai language instead of teaching the students to learn the English language. So when I taught them, I make sure to use techniques and strategies for my students to knew what I was teaching. And I was happy that everyday at the end of my lesson, my students have something learned that was new to them. As weeks progressed, I was now able to taught in the classroom without my cooperating teacher to translate to Thai language the lesson that I was teaching them.


Overall Impression



Nothing is better than a feeling of fullfilment seeing these happy faces of my foreign students.

Teaching in a foreign classroom was hard. But take the challenge. Never give up because the students were the one who will suffer if I failed to gave them the best knowledge that I could share. Yes, it was challenging yet a very wonderful experience for me. I started to love my students and began building rapport with them. It was just sad that when the time came that I was already at home teaching them, it was also the time that I need to leave to go back to my home country. I just hope that God will gave me another opportunity to teach foreign students wherein I was really tested to gave my maximum potential as a student and as a teacher as well.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page